Strong Curriculum, Excellent Instruction, and Successful Students

Welcome to the Curriculum and Instruction Department for Portage Public Schools. Our goal is to be a resource for parents and teachers alike. 



MCACA Logo

The MCACA grant provides $21,000 in critical funds to support Portage Public School’s Aesthetic Education Project, which provides 1,500 Pre-kindergarten through high school students with workshops conducted by professional teaching artists and classroom teachers. In addition, it provides these students with admission to two of the four professional works of art listed: A visual arts exhibition, Scaled Up Sculpture by Marcia Wood, at the Kalamazoo Institute of Art, dance company, Ensemble Espanol; a performance of The Moon’s a Balloon, by Internationally acclaimed theatre company Patch Theatre, and music concert by Orchid Ensemble. This project helps instill awareness, understanding, and appreciation for the arts in our community with the next generation of potential artists and arts and culture patrons. Additionally, the analytical and critical thinking skills our students will further develop though the in-depth workshops extend across curricula and are essential for college and career readiness.

Your Guide to Curriculum and Instruction

Larry Killips
Assitant Superintendent of Instruction and Assessment
269.323.5140
lkillips@portageps.org


Janet Johnstone 
Coorinator of Instructional Services
269.323.5140
jjohnstone@portageps.org


Christine Lockhardt
Community Relations/Instructional Assistant
269.323.5165
Mike Huber
Director of Curriculum and Professional Development
269.323.5060
mhuber@portageps.org

Kelly Milliman
Administrative Assistant to Curriculum and Professional Development
269.323.5060
kmilliman@portageps.org

Marty Witt
Assesment Coordinataor
323.5067
mwitt@portageps.rog

Teresa Forton
Title III English Language Learner Coach
269.323.5160
tforton@portageps.org

Melissa O'Keefe
Academic Reports Specialist

Anne Gordon
Multi-Tiered System of Support (MTSS) Coordinator